how to publish
 visual arts
 art fairs
 modern art
 19th century art
 asian art
164 Fifth Avenue
New York NY 10010
phone 212 8071990
fax 212 8071799

reported by Artforum

Winterhouse Awards for Design Writing & Criticism

10,000 USD Prize (1,000 USD Student Prize)

A yearly program of AIGA and Winterhouse Institute with prizes of 10,000 USD and 1,000 USD for outstanding writing about design. The AIGA Winterhouse Awards for Design Writing & Criticism were founded by William Drenttel and Jessica Helfand of Winterhouse Institute to recognize excellence in writing about design, and to encourage the development of young voices in design writing, commentary and criticism. Writings on all design types are welcome: architectural, environmental, fashion, graphic, industrial, information, interactive, product, strategic and social innovation.

The Writing Award of 10,000 USD is open to writers, critics, scholars, historians, journalists and designers and given for a body of work. The Education Award of 1,000 USD is open to students (high school, undergraduate or graduate) whose use of writing in a single essay demonstrates originality and promise.

2009 Jurors

William Drenttel, Chair

William Drenttel is a designer, publisher and design leader, and a partner with Jessica Helfand at Winterhouse. He is co-founder of Design Observer, senior faculty fellow at the Yale School of Management, former trustee of the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum and president emeritus of AIGA.
Rick Poynor
Rick Poynor is writer at large for Eye, which he founded, contributing editor and columnist for Print, and a research fellow at the Royal College of Art, London. His books include No More Rules, the essay collections Obey the Giant and Designing Pornotopia, and Jan van Toorn: Critical Practice, a monograph about the radical Dutch designer.

Alice Rawsthorn
Alice Rawsthorn is the design critic of the International Herald Tribune, and a columnist for The New York Times Magazine. Her columns are syndicated to newspapers and magazines all over the world. A prominent broadcaster and public speaker on design, Alice is also a board member of Arts Council England and the Whitechapel Gallery in London.

Michael Sorkin
Michael Sorkin in principal of Michael Sorkin Studio, Distinguished Professor of Architecture and director of the graduate program in urban design at City College of New York, and president of Terreform. He is the author of more than fifteen books, most recently Indefensible Space: The Architecture of the National Insecurity State and Twenty Minutes in Manhattan.

Deadline for Submissions
June 1 at the AIGA site.

 Other Events

 Upcoming events